BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Brainteaser: The “Right” Kind

I like pondering on thoughts and ideas. I also love solving puzzles. So when I thought of coming up with a blog that contains only my reflections, I thought of naming it BRAINTEASER. But I’ve been noticing that many of those who come to my blog are looking for a different kind of brain teaser. 🙂 So I thought of “rising up to the challenge” and come up with the “right” kind. Hope you like it. 🙂

 

 

HERE WE GO:

 

I am looking for a two-word phrase that consists of eleven letters (first word, five letters; second word, six letters). What is this phrase?

 

Step 1: Finding the letters:

 

  1. The 19th letter of the English alphabet = __
  2. The 4th letter in the first name of the current USA president = __
  3. The first vowel of the four-letter word that completes this expression: _____ of passage = __
  4. The last letter of the word that completes this biblical phrase: Alpha and ______ =
  5. The first letter of the word that refers to singers, painters, writers, and sculptors = __
  6. The first letter of the five-letter word that means iconic image or symbol = __
  7. The letter that is common to the first, sixth, and eleventh months of the year = __
  8. The chemical symbol of the number five element in the periodic table = __
  9. The first letter in the six-letter English word that contains no vowel = __
  10. The most used vowel in English = __
  11. First letter in the title of the Shakespearian play whose main characters are Katherine, Bianca and Petrucio = __

The eleven letters are: ______________________.

 

Congratulations. You are done with the first step. Now, onto the second.

 

 

Step 2: Word Play/Arranging the Letters

 

First clue: From the eleven-letter, two-word phrase I am looking for, the following words can be formed:

 

  •  (From the first word) The four-letter word that means “drops of fresh water that fall as precipitation from clouds”
  •  (From the second word) The four-letter word that refers to the opposite of “difficulty”

Put first four-letter word here: ______

Put second four-letter word here: ______

 

Try to guess the phrase. If you still cannot, see the next clues.

 

Second clue: From the eleven-letter, two-word phrase I am looking for, you could form the word that refers to “that thing you use when you want to remove pencil marks” by inserting the second letter of the first word between the second letter and the third letter of the second word.

 

 

Final clue: Verse play

 

Oh, am I not exciting, and I not fun?

The old love me, so do the young.

The logical and those with clever mind

They seek me, they think I’m fun.

Solve me, find my pieces, watch my trails

I leave clues, I give hints. Come on, think.

Tell me, tell me, what’s my name?

 

The phrase I am looking for is? _ _ _ _ _      _ _ _ _ _ _ 

At what stage were you able to solve the puzzle/riddle?

  

 

 

//Sherma E. Benosa; 29 May 2008

 

 

 

17 comments on “Brainteaser: The “Right” Kind

  1. VF
    May 29, 2008

    … and the answer is…supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.

    Now, tell me the meaning of that word Buddy.

  2. brainteaser
    May 29, 2008

    Well, Buddy, to me it means you’re wrong. Try again! 🙂

  3. VF
    May 29, 2008

    Hey BTR, is this a quest of the holy grail? Okay, enter Robert Langdon’s Da Vinci Code additional clue:

    “That smirking smile of Mona Lisa…”

    Hek Hek Hek!

  4. VF
    May 29, 2008

    It’s not A-P-P-L-E , is it? But where is the keystone?

  5. brainteaser
    May 29, 2008

    I know you’ve solved it, Buddy, although for the life of me, I still couldn’t figure out how my sweet smile (which you dared call smirk) could have given you the final clue!

    Just let me know when you are coming over to collect your prize — a kiss…es chocolate, ok? Hehehehe! 🙂

    But hey, don’t you go confusing my visitors! Hmp! 🙂

  6. VF
    June 2, 2008

    Hey Buddy, how about this as an answer:

    8-2-4-3-7-11-6-5-1-10-9

  7. brainteaser
    June 4, 2008

    Hehehehehehehhehehehe!

    That is all I can say, Buddy!

  8. how about this answer – ‘I’ 🙂 You need my blogroll for the ‘rosetta stone’.

    second stage, first word part only ( but i did not complete part one more than 50%!)

    Do i get a kiss too? 🙂

    I’ll settle for the chocolate kind 🙂 ( my weakness)

    This is a great idea! 🙂

    love

    <B

  9. brainteaser
    June 7, 2008

    Wow! Very clever! It took me a while before I was able to break the ‘code’ to your ‘counter puzzle!’ Real good!

    Ah! Kiss…es chocolate! I’ve FEDEXed it. Should be there soon! 🙂

  10. ima gonna pounce on the courier/mailman! 🙂

    I knew you’d come up with the right answer.. well, it WAS your puzzle of course 🙂

    Did you and Tam have a chat?? 🙂

    Cool! 😎

    <B

  11. brainteaser
    June 8, 2008

    Is it there yet? I’m sure you’ll love it. It’s oh so yummy. 🙂

    Except I got you the For-Display-Only kind. 😉

    Tam? I wish! But no. I just watched her and Mandy’s MTTV videos. They’re great! Love them both!

  12. tam
    June 9, 2008

    uhhh.

    my brain is hurting.

    oh the pain.

    girl. you are too much for me! 😉

  13. brainteaser
    June 10, 2008

    Hi Tam! How are you? I’m glad you and Mandy are here! Wow! You two made my day. 🙂

    Now, how can I help you relieve your brain pain? 😉 How about some kiss…es chocolates?

    Take care! See you around! 🙂

  14. Panda
    June 25, 2008

    Confusing … you’re good at this 😛

  15. brainteaser
    June 25, 2008

    Hi Panda!

    Hehehehehhehehehehe!

    Welcome, friend!

    It’s meant to be confusing. 😉

  16. Pingback: Crossing the River: BrainTeaser, The Right Kind II « BrainTeaser

  17. Pingback: BRAINTEASER | Crossing the River: BrainTeaser, The Right Kind II

Leave a comment

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories