BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Apathy

 

 

I could have been the ripple

That reached very far

In the pool of compassion;

 

I could have been the dream

That inspired hope to soar

From the void of drunken stupor;

 

I could have been the hymn

That enthused peace to ease

The pain of tortured spirits;

 

I could have been the tiny spark

That lighted the dark alleys

Of restless souls’ meanderings;

 

If only I didn’t die;

If only I didn’t succumb

To diseased silence.

 

 

//Sherma E. Benosa

27 June 2008; 10:47pm

 

16 comments on “Apathy

  1. virtualfriend
    June 28, 2008

    Nice poem Buddy. Very nice. I like it!

    Nice way of saying: “What if, If only… 🙂

    Can’t remember who said this but it may relate: “Love does not consist of gazing at each other, but in looking together in the same direction.”

  2. Darla
    June 28, 2008

    WOW girlfriend!! that is so powerful, and so very deep, piercing my heart…how many times do we remain silent when truth needs to be heard? and how many times do blame it on “waiting for God”…its a new day…lets speak some truth! always ♥ you!

  3. brainteaser
    June 29, 2008

    @VF “What if… if only…” the language of the soul that was too scared to do what it oughta do for fear of making mistakes. Add to that the “might-have-beens” and you’re sure headed toward ruination.

    @DARLA Girlfriend! How are you? Heard you and your fam are having a great time at Tam’s! Enjoy…

    Silence is not always a good thing. To remain silent when something badly needs to be said, to choose to stay uninvolved when our action could make a difference is like letting evil into household.

  4. brainteaser
    June 29, 2008

    There was a beautiful line playing in my mind while I was writing the poem:

    Apathy is compassion in coma.

    or

    Apathy is compassion that died.

    Can’t decide which is more poetic.

  5. Salve
    June 29, 2008

    “apathy is compassion in coma” – more poetic in my opinion.

    hey, girl! how are you? and you, too, vf!

    crumbs
    i-view

  6. Michelle
    June 29, 2008

    OH…I don’t want to succumb…

    I’ve been feeling a bit apathetic this week…do you really think it’s all worth it?

    I do…mostly…but somedays…

  7. brainteaser
    June 29, 2008

    @Salve Thanks, girl. Ok, I’ll use that line then. Coming from someone who is not only close to my heart, and to me physically, but also have written one of the poems I love, I just have to trust thee. 😉

    Watch out for my “My Favorite Poems” in blogs. You are definitely gonna be there. 🙂

    VF and I are missing you. We should go out soon. How about Marikina first, then Bataan? I haven’t been out of MM in a while.

    Hey, have you checked out the photoblog I YM’ed to you?

  8. brainteaser
    June 29, 2008

    Hello, Michelle.

    There are causes worth being involved in. Even if they will wound and leave us scars in the end.

    It’s easy to succumb to apathy. We do fall to it from time to time. But I don’t think we were made to be apathetic. God gave us the gift of compassion.

    Compassion is love is life is God.

    Sometimes we underestimate the power of the small things we can do. But to the recipient, our small acts spell a lot of difference. I know, because I grew up in poverty. I struggled and did my best, but I know I would not have done much had not been for the compassionate hands that reached out to me; had not been for the gifts of chance I’ve been given. When I thanked them profusely, they thought what they did was only a small thing, but to me, it meant so much; it made a lot of difference for me.

    And that’s why it’s easy for me to appreciate small acts of kindness — these things do not only appease people; they change them, transform them, make them better.

    Love you, Michelle. You are a compassionate person. More than you think you are. 🙂

  9. Salve
    June 29, 2008

    hi, sherma lou! 😀 yeah, let’s go visit marikina, then.

    sorry, haven’t been visiting here regularly. you know i’m a slave of the corporate world. haay haay *sigh*

    hey, check out my merienda last week at crumbs
    took me a week to finally post it! (i’m supposed to get a haircut this weekend but i had to work saturday!)

    crumbs
    i-view

  10. brainteaser
    June 30, 2008

    Sherma lou? 🙄 Who is that? 😉

    Slave of the corporate world? Eewww! Need some rescuing? Hehehe

    Told you, we have to think of something… something that will free us of the bondage… this bondage of… of doing things that make others rich! Hah!

    Know how much you love your work but I know just how stressful it is. I worked in the same industry, and I tell you, I don’t miss it! I loved the job, the friends I had, liked meeting people, but I HATE the stress!

    Can I have some stresstabs please. Just thinking about the life I once had gives me headache! Argh!

    Ok. When are we gonna go to Marikina? Sounds like a good de-stressing place.

    And talking about haircut. My hair needs some trimmin’. And hot oil. And spa. Taralets! Hehehe

    Going to your blog now! 😉 See yah!

  11. brainteaser
    June 30, 2008

    Girl, what do you think of this:

    Apathy is comatosed compassion?

  12. virtualfriend
    June 30, 2008

    Haircut?

    Hmm, who wants to be my next Picasso model?

    How about a nice pony tail Buddy? 😛

    Salve, hawakan mo kamay at paa. Hanap ka na rin ng daster and we’ll see how she’ll walk sa pilapil ng Ilokandia!

  13. brainteaser
    July 1, 2008

    Eh, VF?

    Gusto mo kalbukin kita?

    🙂

  14. soulmerlin
    July 1, 2008

    Apathy is a state of indifference – does it arrive from selfishness…probably.

    It’s a lovely poem brainteaser

    henry

  15. rainforestrobin
    July 2, 2008

    Oh you BEAUTIFUL soul you!!!! This is one of your very finest poems. And you know I love them all, but my gawd this is punchy. You just get better and better and better. I am SO proud of you. You are such a wise and old soul. I cannot believe your writing. You obviously feel things very deeply. It is a way of life for you. Now THAT I can relate to. I feel like we are kindred spirits you and I. I applaud you for such rich writing and for listening to your heart.. Good for you Sherma! Hugs and love, Robin

  16. brainteaser
    July 2, 2008

    Hi SOULMERLIN! Hi ROBIN!

    Thank you, my friends.

    It was a news report I watched on TV that made me write this. It just came. I don’t know, but I think something is very wrong with the world today. To borrow the term used by a study on the effects of violent games on children, I think we are “de-sensitized” by the things that are happening around us that, though we often shake our heads and we feel bad and shaken at the things we see, we are not affected enough to MOVE and do something.

    We know of the ripple effect, but often, we are afraid of, or we don’t care about making just one ripple.

    Sad…

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories

