BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

A Sinner’s Plea

 

There is a hymn inside my heart that begs to be sung,

Waiting for my wobbly fingers to strum

The strings of my soul’s discordant melody.

 

But my lips refuse to sing the notes

That would pull my soul out of the void;

For though it badly needs to hear the music

It fears the thundering boom of the drums.

 

So I sit around, hoping for someone to play a song

All the while knowing it’s got to be me;

I wait here, daydreaming for a concerto

All the while knowing my ears have become deaf

To the music of the life around me.

 

Tell me, how can I sing my heart’s tune

Without first fixing the pitch of my thoughts?

I’ve forgotten my lines, I can’t relate to the melody;

Sing to me, sing to me so that I may remember

That there is a hymn that begs to be sung within me.

 

 Originally titled, “Hymn Within Me.” First posted in my POETRY BLOG and in my MAIN BLOG.

 

 

//Sherma E. Benosa

18 May 2008; 5:46pm

 

All rights reserved.

 

29 comments on “A Sinner’s Plea

  1. VF
    June 10, 2008

    lala,
    lala lala
    lala lala.

    lala,
    lala lala
    lala lala.

  2. brainteaser
    June 10, 2008

    Hey Buddy! Let me guess the song you have in mind.

    Is that the lalalalalalala of the song “Hey Jude”? Hey Jude don’t take it bad… take a sad song and make it better~~

    Or may be that of “All of a Sudden”?

    ~~All of a sudden, it was yours and mine….

    Hehehehehe!

  3. brainteaser
    June 10, 2008

    Or of the Tagalog song, “Kikay”?

    🙂

    Eh, VF?

  4. brainteaser
    June 10, 2008

    Or may be that of “Loving You”?

    ~Loving you, is easy coz you’re beautiful…..

    Lalalalala, lalalalala

    🙂

  5. VF
    June 10, 2008

    It can be both Buddy, ‘ketchup-to-yu. It can be Beat-less or Beatles’. But for sure I’m bugged hehehe!

  6. brainteaser
    June 10, 2008

    Bugged? So maybe you mean beetles? Not Beatles?

    😉

    Ow, sorry. Forgot you’re TRYING to be creative… hehehehe

  7. cathi stegall
    June 10, 2008

    oh, i loved to know I could relate to when you wrote, “Tell me, how can I sing my heart’s tune Without first fixing the pitch of my thoughts?”
    makes me think of one of my old sunday school verses “commit your works unto the Lord and your thoughts will be established”…which tells me that even if I can’t hear the song, I shall sing and the tune will resound from within!!!

    [ps…i love to sing but I incessantly make up my own words to songs and subsequently drive my husband NUTS!!!]

  8. VF
    June 10, 2008

    You Are Bagged!

    Du
    Dududududuuuuu!

  9. TheNorEaster
    June 10, 2008

    That was very well-written, BrainTeaser. You have an incredible talent for artistic expression. I especially loved the realistic sense of struggle in the stanzas, which was very well done.

  10. soulMerlin
    June 10, 2008

    A lovely poem ~ I especially like the last verse.

    thank you for sharing.

    henry

  11. brainteaser
    June 11, 2008

    @ Cathi! Good morning to you. It’s so great seeing your laughing pic in my recent comment board! Welcome, welcome. And thank you so much. I like what you said. It’s uplifting. 🙂 And you made me laugh too! You must be a good lyricist. Hehehee. Me, I love to sing, but I do so only in my mind. My vocal chords… argh… they’re not musically inclined! It doesn’t stop me from singing at the top of my lungs, though. In my mind. 😉

    @NorEaster! Hello again, my friend. I hope everything is well over there, like it is here. 🙂 Thank you so much. There is a constant struggle within us, I think. And the humble thing to do is recognize and accept it, and ask for God’s guidance. Only then can we have the necessary strength to settle our human issues. What do you think?

    @Soul Merlin. And thanks to you too, Henry. I’m very glad to have you in my blog. I love reading your pieces. 🙂 Thank you.

    You all made my day.

  12. brainteaser
    June 11, 2008

    Hey Buddy. YOU bagged me? Or you mean you DREAM of bagging me?

    I knew it. You think I am some great award. 😉 TSUP!

  13. VF
    June 11, 2008

    Tsup?

    That’s the best sinner’s plea you ever wrote!

    ‘want another song Buddy?

  14. cathi stegall
    June 11, 2008

    OH, but never underestimate the power of “i’m alone in the car and no one can hear me” singing!

  15. brainteaser
    June 12, 2008

    Oh yeah! I forgot about that!

    Hmmm… thanks, Cath! 😉

  16. brainteaser
    June 12, 2008

    Hey VF! Sure, Buddy. 😉

  17. lovewillbringustogether
    June 12, 2008

    Let your voice be heard 🙂

    If we wait until everything is ‘just perfect’ before beginning something nothing will ever be done 🙂

    Having said that not everyone is best suited to singing 🙂

    … or should that be that a large number of people may have problems with their hearing??

    Let your Heart do the singing Sherma! 🙂

    … and those thundering drums??? it’s just the loud beating of your heart, as a fear makes your pulse ‘race’…

    love

    <B

  18. soulMerlin
    June 13, 2008

    I was looking at your poem again and I noticed a couple of lines that were brilliant. Every poem needs a line that wraps up and encapsulates the whole piece.

    Dylan Thomas was excellent at this, his last line in the poem “Fern Hill” (the first poem I read and still my all-time favourite) he writes:

    “Time held me Green and Dying, though I sang in my Chains like the Sea.”

    You have given me the same feeling within me with you wonderful lines:

    “Tell me, how can I sing my heart’s tune
    Without first fixing the pitch of my thoughts?”

    that is such a good line 🙂

    henry

  19. cathi stegall
    June 13, 2008

    hey, but what about ‘MAKE A JOYFUL NOISE’??? This said nothing about beautiful, lovely, sing-song, or pleasing to the ear, now did it????

  20. Darla
    June 13, 2008

    BT this is awesome..headed to check out your poetry blog…you are very gifted! I love visiting here.

  21. brainteaser
    June 13, 2008

    @lovewillbringustogether

    “Let your voice be heard”
    BT: HELLOOOO! ‘loooooo! looooooo! CAN YOU HEAR MEEE? meee, meeee, meeee. 😉

    “If we wait until everything is ‘just perfect’ before beginning something nothing will ever be done”
    BT: Yay! I completely agree. 🙂

    “Having said that not everyone is best suited to singing … or should that be that a large number of people may have problems with their hearing??”
    BT: I think it’s the latter. No, I am SURE it’s the latter. 😉

    “Let your Heart do the singing Sherma!
    … and those thundering drums??? it’s just the loud beating of your heart, as a fear makes your pulse ‘race’…”

    BT:
    I’m heeding your advice, Friendster. Sure, I am. 🙂 Big, big thanks. (Now, I’m talking both in the literal and spiritual sense. In my earlier posts here, I was just talking in the literal sense. 🙂 Singing in the spiritual sense doesn’t require a good voice (unless you’re part of the church choir). All I need is a humble heart who accepts my faults and is willing to fix the pitch of my thoughts.)

  22. brainteaser
    June 13, 2008

    @SOUL MERLIN

    Hello, friend! You humble me. 🙂 I’d love to read that poem. I’ll ask you for the permalink if I can’t find it myself, please? 🙂

    That line is my favorite, too. Acceptance of our failures/ weaknesses/sins is not enough. We have to be willing to fix them, and to change. We need not fear the booming drums, that’s just fear, as lovewillbringustogether has pointed out. It could also be just our pride. We do this (fix and change) and the hymn within us will come out freely, and I’m sure it will be a beautiful melody. 🙂

  23. brainteaser
    June 13, 2008

    @Cathi: Ah, so true, so true! There is something good and uplifting with joyful noise. You seem like a very happy person! That’s so great!

    Cheers!

    @Darla: Wow! I am so glad you’re here! It’s been a while. Thanks, Darla. See you around. 🙂

    Hmmm… You’re going to my poetry blog? Great! 🙂 Hope you’ll find things you like. I wish you understand our language (Ilokano) coz I think my ilokano stuff are more soulful. 🙂

    Keep coming back, folks! You are always welcome here!

    Love yah all!

  24. Michelle
    June 15, 2008

    I love reading your words, Sherma. You capture my feelings and express them in ways I struggle to do.

    I created your Picassohead this morning – it doesn’t really capture your beauty, but I gave it my best shot:

    http://www.mrpicassohead.com/canvas.html?id=59b922d&skin=original

  25. bradruggles
    June 15, 2008

    Dang, you wrote that? Very cool!

  26. brainteaser
    June 15, 2008

    MICHELLE! Good morning! I’m so overwhelmed. You really are an artist! No, you didn’t capture my beauty. You made me look beautiful. You are seeing me through eyes that highlight the beauty of everyone. That is truly amazing. (I am beginning to realize that since I became part of our little community, amazing has become my fave word. You guys amaze me so.)

    Now, back to the art. I really need to find out how to capture that like Mandy said and save it as an image. 🙂

    Love you, Michelle. It’s so nice waking up in the morning to a friend’s visit… plus a bonus of a very beautiful gift.

    Thank you! God bless….

  27. brainteaser
    June 15, 2008

    BRADRUGGLES! Good morning to you too. How are you?

    Yes, I did write that. I can’t explain how, but one time the wind just seemed to whisper the words into my ears. I simply put them on paper. 🙂

    Glad you like it.

    Hope to see more of you. 🙂

  28. virtualfriend
    June 16, 2008

    Hey Buddy, try singing this song: (hope it works)

  29. brainteaser
    June 17, 2008

    Hi Buddy!

    Watched it. Thank you so much for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories

