BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Thy Footsteps, My Guide (Poetry for Dad)

dad-and-me.jpg

In this life, I had your footsteps to guide me through;

From them, through them, Father, I saw

The road you took, hard and long; your progress, slow;

Grueling was your journey; that I now know.

.

Up to the crossroads, your footsteps took me, Father

And I noticed, your footsteps spent a long time there;

They found it hard to decide which way to proceed

Would it be left or right; or how about straight ahead?

.

They took the left path, their steps tentative; then up ahead

I heard a screech as a sharp brake then a U-turn they made;

Then to the crossroad, slowly they made their way back

Contemplating, hoping, that better would be the other path.

.

The right trail, after much thought, they decided to try

There was so much to see there, so much to find;

But soon they realized, the path was leading them

Nowhere near where they stored their dream.

.

To go back and try the other way was the right thing to do,

They thought; but it was already too late to do so, they knew;

So instead, they moved forward, trying to find the good thing

That the journey that they pursued could bring.

.

I know, thy footsteps faltered several times; I did hear their cries;

Stumbling, I heard them groan; and those sounds are their sighs.

But I am proud to see they continued with their trek, still;

Inch by inch they moved, now there’s the finish line; they’re near.

.

Right there are your footsteps now; Oh, I see them clearly

Still moving onward, though now, rather more slowly;

Seeing that plateau they’ve reached; please let me tell thee

The road you’ve taken was tough, but tougher are you, Daddy.

.

Look at the humps your footsteps had to pass through along the way

Not tripping over those monsters, good at dodging they must be, I say;

The good maneuvers they’ve done; the curves they’ve straightened

Oh, for those who might follow thee, the road they’ve smoothened.

.

This journey of yours, I know it’s not easy, Daddy

But look where your small steps brought you and me;

The tears you shed, the beads of sweat you let drop

Please know, Father, that they won’t be for naught..

. 

And now, at that very same crossroad you once crossed, I stand

Trying to decide which way to take; please do understand

Your path I might not take; that you know, don’t you Daddy?

Still, I ask thee to bless me; that fruitful my journey will be.

.

For my father, my guide, my hero Manuel D. Benosa, Sr. who’s celebrating his 57th birthday on March 20.

.

//Sherma E. Benosa

12 July, 2006; 11:40pm

4 comments on “Thy Footsteps, My Guide (Poetry for Dad)

  1. Pingback: Thy Footsteps, My Guide (Poetry for Dad)

  2. Cliff
    March 18, 2008

    like father-like daughter Buddy? ‘Don’t think so!

    :))

  3. cora
    March 19, 2008

    Hello girl! just blog hop hop in here doing my daily routine and have a good day.

  4. brainteaser
    March 20, 2008

    Hello my Buddy! How art thou? 🙂

    In some aspects, yes; in other aspects, no. 🙂

    Hello Cora. Have a good day to you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories

