BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Ode to the Night

resized.jpg

The night, in its obscurity

Is the wide canvas
upon which the moon’s mysterious smile
is painted.

The rich backdrop
against which the stars 
hold their merrymaking.

Dark, he lives in obscurity.
Alone, he is nobody.
Yet,
Without him —
The moon would lose its allure;
And the stars, their grandeur.

There won’t be starlit skies
under which lovers exchange dreamy sighs.

And I’d be lost —
Wouldn’t know where to find my shooting star! 

.

//Sherma E. Benosa

Also posted in my main blog: The Written Wor[l]d.

9 comments on “Ode to the Night

  1. Cendrine Marrouat
    March 16, 2008

    Very interesting poem, indeed! It is very sensual and tells us of many mysterious encounters. Kudoz!

  2. Nancy Odell
    March 17, 2008

    Hey!…I Googled for nancy o dell born, but found your page about nnial 2007 – salvatore iaconesi – del.icio.us poetry…and have to say thanks. nice read.

  3. lovewillbringustogether
    March 17, 2008

    Well Written 🙂

    Before the Light, there was Dark – so Biblical Genesis tells us.

    The Earth revolves constantly from Dark into Light and back. We need the Night as much as we need the Light.

    Contrast ( light vs dark) helps us to better appreciate those things we hold dear, makes them ‘stand out’ more clearly.

    The Night also is a time for us to relax – refresh those batteries we wear out during our day…. and maybe, if we are lucky, to hide us from prying eyes while we catch our shooting star 😉

    love ❤

  4. Cliff
    March 17, 2008

    “Wouldn’t know where to find my shooting star! ”

    -and it’ll be the total ecclipse of my heart…

    Hi Buddy!

  5. brainteaser
    March 17, 2008

    Hello Friends! I am humbled that you like the scrawls of my pen.

    lovewillbringustogether, I have always been fascinated with dichotomies: black/white, dark/bright… and how one cannot exist without the other. Yin-yang. I love it when it’s day, but the romantic part of me loves the night. Sometimes, I even feel sorry for the night that it is often associated with evil things just because it’s dark. The part of me that loves the night — the stars, the moon, the calm feeling that it gives, the breeze — want to point out that it’s not really the night, but the creatures that roam in the night, that are giving it a bad name! Haha! I don’t know if I can defend that position if someone would challenge me to, but that’s how I often feel.

    Cedrine and Nancy, thank you for coming over to my blog. Hope you’d drop by again. 🙂

    Cliff! Hey buddy! I think I’ve found my shooting star. Have you?

    See you folks! Take care! 🙂

  6. lovewillbringustogether
    March 18, 2008

    Hi Brainteaser or may i call you brainy? 🙂

    we share similar thoughts! it’s as you wrote elsewhere – the two sides (of the same coin). Dichotomies – seemingly distinct, separate, opposite, yet always linked by one or more ‘commonalities’ Uniting them both into one.

    I believe it all comes down to how we choose to look at things ( our ‘unique’ perspectives).

    If we can learn to look at things through the eyes and mind of others then we will come to greater understanding of our shared humanity and how we all connect to the supreme being.

    It is our perspectives that are the things that give the appearance of dichotomies or differences. How we zoom in or out and which ‘direction’ we look from all adds to our poor ‘perceptions’ of the true realities on this planet ( ok now i’m getting a little deep into psychology here – sorry 🙂

    like your thinking!

    P.S. of course you may add me to your blogroll – i have already taken the liberty of doing likewise – forgive the presumption?

    love ❤

  7. brainteaser
    March 18, 2008

    Well-said, lovewillbringustogether. 🙂 Thank you for your insightful comments, as usual. 🙂 I’m learning from you.

    Brainy? Haha! Hmmm… Ok. Although I’m not really brainy. But then again, I once advised my brother to call his black cat “Pinky.” (Told him there’s no point calling her blacky because everyone already can see for himself that she’s black).
    🙂

    Hey Buddy! What’s up? You haven’t answered my question!
    🙂

    Have a good day to you friends! You take care. God bless…
    🙂

  8. brainteaser
    March 18, 2008

    I’ve added it! Thanks. 🙂 And it’s ok. I’m glad that you did.
    Will come to your blog again soon.
    🙂

  9. Cliff
    March 18, 2008

    Tsk tsk tsk Buddy!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2008 by in MuZings, Poetry and Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories