BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Life is a Fashion Statement

Fashion is generally regarded as a paltry topic, but there are a couple of rules in fashion that would do us good if we could apply them to our life. They are the rules on accessories.

 

When tastefully used, accessories can make a plain ensemble look stylish. They can even make a cheap dress look classy and expensive. They can make our dress — and us — stand out.

 

When used tastelessly, however, our accessories can be our ruination. Being overdressed and over-decorated can make us a sore to the eye.

 

So the rules of thumb in fashion I like best are these: 1) Don’t overdo; and 2) Choose only those that complement your personality; expensive does not necessarily mean beautiful.

 

I think the same can be applied to life. Our accessories — our jobs, our cars, our earthly possessions — can make our life more comfortable. But like fashion accessories, we should try not to over-decorate ourselves with them, lest we would lose focus on what life really is. We might get mixed-up with what is essential and what isn’t.

 

Life is not our accessories. It is the basics that we have — the things we cannot do without.

 

//Sherma E. Benosa

14 June 2008; 9:04am

.

 

Points to Ponder

What are the 5 things in life you consider to be merely accessories? What are the 5 things you cannot live without? Do you think you are overly decorated?

 

22 comments on “Life is a Fashion Statement

  1. lovewillbringustogether
    June 15, 2008

    Hi Brainy 🙂

    It’s true – we can overdo the life accessories, i think.

    5 accessories?

    jewellery – i never wear much
    a watch – time is never all that important – and i can usually find out the time if i HAVE to.
    walkman’s; i-pod or mobile phones – all non-essential to me.
    drugs/cigarettes/alcohol – do not understand the ‘attraction’ to these ( or maybe i do – addiction! – so not good for a human being!).
    and TV – my downfall 🙂

    5 things i cannot live without?
    Family
    Friends (real or met on the net)
    Love
    my computer – all the knowledge i ever need at my fingertips.
    learning – about self and others/Nature. 🙂

    you have mail! 🙂

    Have a restful night and a Great Day tomorrow!

    love

    <B

  2. TheNorEaster
    June 16, 2008

    “What are the 5 things in life you consider to be merely accessories?”

    1. My car.
    2. My apartment (it’s pretty big for just me).
    3. My television.
    4. My office.
    5. My kitchen accessories.

    “What are the 5 things you cannot live without?”

    1. Oxygen
    2. Heat
    3. Shelter
    4. Food
    5. Faith

    “Do you think you are overly decorated?”

    Not particularly. But I have learned to redefine luxury as “having more than what I need” instead of “having everything I want.”

  3. virtualfriend
    June 16, 2008

    Accessory, hmm, like a Christmas deco ei? 🙂

    How about “accessory” to the “best” crime man ever committed –Amour?

    …can we see the toenails of the model?

    😛

  4. Michelle
    June 16, 2008

    I’m having a hard time with this question. Been thinking about it since yesterday…

    Not much in my life is necessary, outside of shelter, food, water. But I sure love having air conditioning, make-up, clothes, flipflops, a car, a mattress, a laptop…

    But really, I don’t think I would be any good without God. Really. I would be a mess. He has made life bearable. Not at all an accessory – total necessity!!

  5. brainteaser
    June 17, 2008

    Hello, Friendster! How do you figure out the time? Do you use the sun as reference, like in the old days? Or do you ask your neighbors? Or perhaps base it on what’s on in the TV currently? 😉

    That’s an interesting list. Can’t understand the attraction to cigarettes, etc too.

    Thanks for the help, friend!

    Hello NOR! Am not a TV person. In fact, I don’t own one. I read more than watch. 😉 Oxygen. Hehehehe! Definitely, my friend. That’s a good one! 🙂

    VF! There you go teasing me again! What do you want to see the toenails for? Eh?!

    Michelle! So true. Make him the center of your life and you know you’ve got the most essential thing with you!

  6. brainteaser
    June 17, 2008

    My Accessories
    My cam (I love it, but ok… if it comes down to it, I can ditch it).
    My laptop (Oh, I wanna put it in the essential because it’s the repository of my works and my gateway to the world, but ok…sniff, sniff)
    My cellphone (Love it too and I cannot seem to function without it… Can I have it just for a while more?)
    My books (Oh, but I love ‘em!)
    My spaghetti-strapped blouses 😉 (Uhm, can I trade in my extra shoes instead? I really love those blouses!)

    My Essentials
    Family and loved ones
    Friends
    God and my faith
    Love
    Education


    Am I decorated?

    Oh, but of course (physically that is), because I make most of my accessories (bead jewelry, my weakness!)

    But seriously, I don’t think I am ‘overly decorated’ because I don’t own much in the first place. I have some desires/wants though, so that can make me ‘overly decorated’ with the things I don’t have, but when I realize I cannot afford them, I tell myself they are really non-essentials, that I won’t become a better person if I have them (nor will I become less of a person if I don’t have them).

  7. virtualfriend
    June 17, 2008

    er, uhm… ayd layk 2 put a steyk on yur namber 4 E, f ay mey…

    😛

    bon nuit chérie!

  8. virtualfriend
    June 17, 2008

    wataminit, ‘teasin’ you? Yup, am good at that hehehe!

    Won’t drive back a lady-date with a red toenail! Looks like a chargin’ redbull!

    Oh-la-la!

  9. brainteaser
    June 17, 2008

    Hehehhehehe! Hey Buddy! 😉 Steak? stake? hehehehehe….

    Hahahaha! I’m no fan of the color red. 😉 And I don’t use nail polish. I just clean my nails with cuticle remover and that’s it.

    HEY! You haven’t listed your As and your Es yet! Come on, join in!

  10. brainteaser
    June 17, 2008

    I know this is breaking the rules, but I want to add a couple of things more to my essentials list:

    Tissue paper (Coz I almost always have a runny nose. Gross!)

    Something to keep me warm, like a blanket/sweater (Coz I easily get cold, even if the change in tempt is very slight, and even if other people actually feel it’s hot)

  11. brainteaser
    June 17, 2008

    Pssst VF!

    Can you put a steak on love? Don’t think so.

    So it must be stake.

    Question: Do you still put a stake on something you already own?

    Hmmm…

  12. virtualfriend
    June 17, 2008

    Ahum. Is that really a question or a declaration? Is there a (TM) attached?

    😛

  13. virtualfriend
    June 17, 2008

    Hey Buddy, got you a pica-head, accessorized!

    😛

    http://www.mrpicassohead.com/canvas.html?id=8bb52e7&skin=original

  14. lovewillbringustogether
    June 17, 2008

    i forgot God as an essential??

    well.. in my excuse… nothing we can do is ever separate from Him we can turn away – but He is wherever we look and is always ‘with us’.

    A pathetic attempt at saving face – i know! 🙂

    <B

  15. rainforestrobin
    June 18, 2008

    What a fantastic post. I LOVE the way you related it to life. I think in the USA so many people have replaced the accessories with real living, with the things that are crucial or irreplaceable. I see people every day who think they ARE their car, their house, their expensive clothes, jewelry, etc. They often neglect their spouse or children over “things”. Things can be useful and even make our life easier but they aren’t our life. You are such a good writer and pick key life lessons and insights to write about. I am always impressed with your insight when I come here. Thank you my friend. Hugs, RainforestRobin,

    PS I like the new photo of you…forgot to tell you. You are beautiful and full of vitality. 🙂

  16. brainteaser
    June 18, 2008

    @FRIENDSTER! Will it help if I tell you I didn’t notice you missed Him in your list? How about if I tell you I buy your excuse? No? Ok, how about if I say HE understands? 😉

    @ROBIN! Hi friend! How are you? I so love how you add depth to the post. I guess it happens not only in the US; it’s a worldwide phenomenon. Even third-world countries like the Philippines are not free of this affliction. We do tend to confuse the unimportant with the essentials. And we only realize which belongs to which when the essential ones are gone. Like our families.

    In JK Rowling’s speech which I posted down below, she talked about failure as a stripping of the inessentials. And I quite agree with her. Losing something important does have a good effect on us if we spend enough time to reflect on things. But we need not lose a lot to learn that. We can learn it from other people’s experiences. We can stop what we are doing now and list down the things that we think truly matter. Is it our work/job? Is it our million-dollar house? Is it our vast property? These things mean a lot, of course, but nothing when compared to the things that trully matter in this life. What the essentials are, we decide. But I guess they definitely aren’t the things we own.

    I think of the essentials as those that pulsate. Like God. Like love. Like life. Like our faith. Like the people we love.

  17. brainteaser
    June 18, 2008

    @Robin. They say how we see things most often depend on what we want to see, how we choose to see them. I am beautiful because you see me through beautiful eyes. Thank you!

    And I see your beauty too. Especially that of your soul. It’s so warm and inspiring. Love you, Robin!

    @VF. Hello Buddy! Thanks so much. I love better the other two, though. That one you linked here with a short hair and a big earrings. Heheehe. I know you had to cut the hair to show the earrings, to accessorize me, but I don’t like my hair short. In the past, I cut my hair very short only when I was feeling down and broken hearted. Long hair means I am happy! My fave is your drawing of me wearing ponytails, with long long hair! Hehehehe! 😉 Love you.

  18. virtualfriend
    June 18, 2008

    Le voilà enfin mon E!

    –the one after the smiley!

    😛

  19. virtualfriend
    June 18, 2008

    Oh, wait. Re Robin’s remark:

    Hi Robin. U r right. She is pretty, isn’t she? You should see her in person. She has that never-fading-beauty.

    Yes, she talks a lot but knows how to listen too.

  20. Brad Ruggles
    June 18, 2008

    You make a great point about overdoing it with the little “accessories” in life. If I had to be honest I would say that my natural inclination is to over-accessorize although God is teaching me to cut back. It’s not easy though!

    Ok, for me personally? Things I would have a hard time living without – my music collection, my laptop and my Moleskine.

  21. Heather
    June 19, 2008

    Hi!

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog! Thought I would return the favor and I am glad I did!!! What a thought provoking blog this is.

    I guess my accessories would be:
    My cell phone
    My car
    My house
    My cross necklace
    All of the ‘stuff’ that decorates my home

    Things I couldn’t live without:
    My Bible
    My family
    God’s Grace
    Socks (I have a strange sock fettish. Don’t ask)
    Love, Faith, and Hope

    OK…maybe Starbucks would be a keeper, too:)

    Love and Blessings to you!!!

  22. brainteaser
    June 19, 2008

    @VF! Hehehe! I now know what to give you on Christmas: a free eye-check up! 😉 Thanks Buddy! Love you…

    @Brad Yes, friend. We all need to cut back on some things. 🙂 Good luck to us all.

    @Heather Hey! I did enjoy reading your posts, esp. the cucumber thing! Really. Even VF was was cracking up when he read it. 😉 Uhm… so you’re the sock lady, and me… the tissue girl! We make a good pair! 😉

    Thanks for the visit. The doors are always open for you… and everyone.

    God bless~

Leave a comment

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories