BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Sunset After the Storm

pagudpod-sunset.jpg. 

 I watch in awe as you slowly walk to the horizon’s end

Amber and gold flashing; I imagine that is you winking.

I feel the calm of your peace, taste the truth in your promise

I know you’ll be back to hold me tight in your embrace.

.

You pause a little and wave to me one last time

Before disappearing to give way to the impatient night.

I linger a moment longer, caressing the mist of your scent

Then slowly walk back home for a well-deserved rest.  

.

[Photo Caption: Captivating Pagudpod, Ilocos Norte Sunset.]

 

.

//Sherma E. Benosa; 19 November 2007; 10:35pm 

5 comments on “Sunset After the Storm

  1. snde
    March 30, 2008

    What power does the sunset have over our beings? In this poem, you speak of it as a lover. Whereas I would speak of it as confusion.
    Stanza 1 offers the “last look” and hope for things to stay as they are.
    Stanza 2 proves the helplessness of our beings, as we can merely control our actions and nothing more. The knowing of time passing and weather changing, where we can only choose the setting of our sleep number bed.

    Line 3 is a bit awkward, possibly because you use “I” in “I imagine…” and then abruptly in the beginning of line 3.

    “I feel the calm of your peace…” is just brilliant.
    Beautiful imagery, “…caressing the mist of your scent”.
    Great read.

  2. leafless
    March 30, 2008

    A beautiful poem and a magnificent photo.

  3. mushygrey
    March 31, 2008

    I love this poem. Great sharing!

  4. brainteaser
    March 31, 2008

    Leafleass, mushygrey, and snde, thank you so much for gracing my pages. 🙂

    Thanks for your analysis/comments, snde. They will surely help me improve. 🙂

    Cheers to the three of you. 🙂

  5. Melissa
    March 31, 2008

    Great poem. Very heartfelt. The photo is indeed magnificent.

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories

