BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Stolen?

I am disappointed to find that three of my original posts have been stolen by a fellow blogger!

 

I always check out the sites that link to mine. I used to feel happy when someone pings back to my articles, thinking that that person liked my pieces so much he/she felt the need to link to them, until I realized that some links, called pingbacks, are just automated. Moreover, there have been sites that pinged back to my articles whose content I do not like. So I no longer allow pingbacks in my newer posts.

 

But what I just discovered is even worse. Three of my original pieces, The Portrait that is the Filipina, Humanity vs. Opportunity, and What Matters Most had been reposted in a site without proper protocol. (The second was just mistakenly linked to mine because I put a link there to another post of mine, and that’s how I discovered about the theft). This, in my opinion, is a clear case of infringement of intellectual property.

 

I posted my Humanity vs. Opportunity piece here at Brainteaser on April 10, The Portrait that is the Filipina on March 12; and What Matters Most on March 10. All of these were re-posted on the other person’s site on May 11.

 

Let me post here the links to my stolen pieces so you could see them for yourself. Even your comments in the Opportunity vs. Humanity, my dear readers, were also stolen. The person copied the whole article verbatim. In fact, all that’s missing is my name! See for yourself: The Portrait that is the Filipina, Opportunity vs. Humanity, and What Matters Most.

 

I have left a comment in the other person’s blog, and I am awaiting for his/her response.

8 comments on “Stolen?

  1. brainteaser
    May 23, 2008

    I just found out today that another article of mine had been re-posted in FULL in a website called Men’s Health.

    Ah! What to do?

    Here’s the link:

    http://www.ahsamcgill.com/sexual-dysfunction/sick-and-twisted-a-reaction-to-the-canister-scandal/#comment-21260

  2. manjari
    May 26, 2008

    hi brainteaser. Thanks for keeping in touch with my blog. I have loved following your tender, insightful essays, too. You know, I haven’t published a new blog in almost two months, being so discouraged by discovering similar splogs of my work. Grrrr! I discovered that many of my stolen essays were done by spam robots. I did all the ‘cease and desist’ style letters, tracked down the web host and sent plenty of strong messages, with no reply. sigh…let me know if you find a way to help prevent this.

  3. manjari
    May 26, 2008

    I just noticed your blog’s subheading. Shall I call you Sherma?

  4. brainteaser
    May 27, 2008

    Hello Manjari. 🙂 I am glad you’re back here. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen you. But I still remember your post about the pencil sharpenings. Love it very much. 🙂

    I am so sad to hear about that. I’m having the same problems too. And the people who reposted my articles had not bothered to respond to my comments, I’m so disappointed.

    For the time being, maybe you could just try to put COPYSCAPE in your blog. 🙂 I don’t know how much that would help, though, but I’ll let you know when I find something useful.

    🙂 Have a good time, Manjari. God bless. And thanks for your kind words.

    PS: Sherma is fine. 🙂

  5. Salve
    June 6, 2008

    Girl, you should protect your site with a creative commons (cc) license. Thru cc, pwede mong i-define kung hanggang saan lang o kung pwede ba nilang gamitin ang content mo.

    see here: http://creativecommons.org/

  6. brainteaser
    June 8, 2008

    Will do girl. May link ka ba ng mga dapat ko pang basahin para mas maintindihan? Hehehehe 🙂

  7. Jake
    June 20, 2008

    All I thought sa akin lang nagyari ang ganyan. Even buzztracker too, copy some articles of mine. My robot ata sila na taga pick-up ng mga titles at diretso nilang ipopost sa kanilang website.

  8. brainteaser
    June 20, 2008

    Hey Jake, kabsat!
    Hay naku, sinabi mo. Makapa-high blood, sika. Kaloka.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2008 by in Life, point of view and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories