BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Tangled!

They always tangle or get knotted up!

 

I’m talking about the cords — those highly functional bits of strands without which we cannot turn on our gadgets unless they are battery operated. I untangle them every day, or every other day, but soon they will again be all tangled and knotted up. I keep thinking they simply have a habit of “messing” themselves up. Perhaps to annoy the impatient me? 😦

 

I also noticed that they tangle in a way that is not easy to fix. Often, for me to fix them, I will have to unplug one or all of them. It just wouldn’t do without some unplugging, which is a bit annoying when you are currently using the gadget to which they are attached. Like me, I use wired connection, so I often do not want to fix the tangled cords because I would lose my connection, which sometimes I need to do for me to get something else working, say my speaker which is plugged on the same socket.

 

So yeah, I sometimes think life is so much easier without these cords. But then, when I need them and I find that I don’t have them (like when I went home to Nueva Vizcaya last year and realized I did not have my PC charger) I realize I couldn’t properly work without them. Hah!  It’s during these moments that I realize just how much gadget-dependent I am. (But that is not really the point of the post, sorry.)

 

Back to tangling and untangling. This afternoon, as I crouched down to yet again untangle and unknot my cords, a thought hit me: cords are very much like us. No matter how careful we are, we always get caught up in tangles we never wanted to find ourselves in. And no matter how often we untangle ourselves, we just keep getting knotted up and tangled. I involuntarily shook my head at the idea.

 

 

I went on with my untangling; my fingers getting impatient every second. Then I realized that one of the cords had to be removed from the socket for me to completely untangle them. I proceeded to do just that. But then, I realized that if I do it, I would be unplugging my internet connection. Because I was working on something important, I decided not to untangle the cords yet and let them stay messed up until I finished what I was working on.

 

Needless to say, I paused with my untangling and continued with my work.

 

But now, as I look back to what transpired this afternoon, another thought hit me and it was this: “We tend to postpone fixing our lives because we think that our mess can wait until we are done with what we perceive to be more important. And, even when we know that we need to do some drastic measure to fix our lives, like uprooting something, we decide not to — or at least not just yet, until we are ready.

 

What do you think?

 

 

[PS: As I was typing my wrap-up question, an idea hit me (yeah, again!): That perhaps the tangling/knotting up of my cords was not meant to annoy me, but to teach me a lesson on patience. Hmmm… that sounds like a better way of looking at it. 😉 ]

 

 

//Sherma E. Benosa

10 June 2008; 11:15pm

 

________________

PLUG: Latest at The Witten World – TELL ME YOUR SONG

10 comments on “Tangled!

  1. Ashley
    July 11, 2008

    So in my devotions this morning Hebrews 12:1 came up…
    “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” And I thought about how easy it is to get entangled in sin… but seems so hard to get out… And I thought about how we wouldn’t get easily tangled up if we weren’t around or near the sin in the first place… you know how we like to push our limits and can be like well… I’m only going to do this and not that cuz that’s sin… but we find ourselves doing what we said we wouldn’t anyway… all that to say your blog reminded me of that

  2. Michelle
    July 11, 2008

    Ashley said it well. We are not to be ensnared with the cares of this world…we are not to be entangled by the sin that so easily surrounds us…easier said than done.

    I SO love grace. It’s all about learning, isn’t it?

  3. sonnetshaven
    July 11, 2008

    By getting tangled with problems in life we become stronger. Next time we get into the same situation, we’d know what to do already. But then, who really wants to get into tangles? As much as possible we all want a smooth life, which is really impossible to have.

  4. virtualfriend
    July 11, 2008

    …depends on what you are entangled with. I dont want you to untangle the cord i tangled you with… 😉

    “woman”, 🙂 have you ever heard the word cordless?

    :

  5. Salve
    July 11, 2008

    Girl, “patience is a virtue.” I always tell myself that, so I don’t easily get annoyed. 😀

    VF, I think we need to “familiarize” this girl with the word “cordless.” 😀

  6. brainteaser
    July 11, 2008

    Well said, Ashley, Michelle and Sonnet…

    Right, easier said than done. Let’s just do our best to minimize the tangles and to keep trying to free ourselves of them.

    And hopefully we learn to unplug when we must…

    Love you all!

  7. virtualfriend
    July 11, 2008

    …like no strings attached eh Salve?

    give me five friend! hehehehe!

  8. brainteaser
    July 11, 2008

    Hahahahaha! VF. Argh! Ok, ok, ok. I should have said the bad kind of tangles! Kahooooo! Hahahahaha!

    You got me there, Buddy! 😉

    Hi SALVE. Yes, I know. You are patience personified. It always amazes me how you stay so cool even under pressure. You’re something, do you know that?

    Cordless? Yeah… even my mouse is still wired. Hmp! It’s not because I don’t know that the word cordless is the techies’ word of the year (I made that up), but I thought they’d come in handy should VF decide to suddenly sneak at my back. I can strangle him with my tangled cords! Hah! Peace, Buddy! 😉

  9. brainteaser
    July 11, 2008

    Cordless relationships?

    You want that, BUDDY?

    What do you say to that, Salve?

  10. virtualfriend
    July 12, 2008

    I like locked Wi-Fi connection, I can monitor you but no one can piggy-back hehehe!

    Oist, work on your dissertation. Enough of this silly blogging! (let me see your reaction hehehehehe)

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories

