BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

Favorite Poems in the Blogosphere

There’s something about poetry that tugs at my heart. The metaphors sing to me, beckoning me to fly to a floating realm. They make the sun smile, the moon flirt, and the wind whisper sweet nothings. They give dreams their powerful wings, let hope soar, and allow peace to descend.

 

Of all forms of literature, poetry is the most magical. Reading poetry is like being invited by a dear friend into his being. It gives us a glimpse of the gem inside the poet’s soul, and allows us a precious peek into the void within, at the dreams that strengthen the spirit, the fears that wouldn’t show their face, and the angst that are struggling to come out.

 

In this post, I would like to share with you some magical moments, by sharing with you some of the best poems I’ve stumbled into in the blogosphere. May these poems touch you as they touched me. My only request is that you’d also share a poem that touched you in a special way.

 

Corazon Quaimas’ You and I

I love the wordplay and the imagery in this poem. I couldn’t say though, that this is the poet’s best, simply because he has lots of poems that I love. Especially his Ilokano ones. A master of minimalism, he writes poems that pulsate!

 

Sarah Flanigan’s Sense of Small 

I don’t exactly know what she was thinking when she wrote this, but I am reading her post as a poem on humility, on being awed at something that’s grand, and bowing to a great being. Of course, my interpretation could be far from what she had in mind, and from your own interpretation, but who is to say I’m wrong?

 

Tomachfive’s Refreshing the Window

I love the analogy and wordplay in this poem. It can be interpreted in so many ways. It says something about our relationships, about how we deal with life, and so on. That’s what makes it so especial.

 

Delfin Ballo Jr.’s Closure.

This poem, I stumbled upon just last week. I was searching for English poems by Filipinos, and I got through the Pinoy Poets site. I haven’t read everything in the site yet, because this one made me stop. I read it again and again, loving it more each time.

 

So, those are the four poems from poets I’ve come across in the blogosphere. Now, here are some poems from two of my good friends.

 

Salve’s An Island

Here’s a poem that made me question the kind of a friend I am. Salve has been my friend since our university days, but it was only last year that I learned she writes good poetry. Good thing she blogged it. I would have never known! Argh! I’m such a lousy, lousy friend! (At least, I appreciate her poetry! 😉  )

 

Armine’s Void

This is a very sad poem, it broke my heart. I never got over it. But it’s very beautiful. It transported me to a different plane, and made me feel I was the void that caused her ruin. Powerful!

 

 

Now, it’s your turn to share. What’s on your list?

 

 

[PS: Like My Favorite Blog Posts post, this is also going to be a work in progress. There are other poems I have read that I will need to re-discover. I will be adding to my lists as we go along.]

 

21 comments on “Favorite Poems in the Blogosphere

  1. virtualfriend
    July 5, 2008

    I like Cendrine Marrouat’s French poems: delicate and fluid.

    Here’s a line I like best from her “Demain” (Tomorrow): http://soulpoetrysiteblog.wordpress.com/2008/06/16/demain

    “Ceux qui cherchent à fuir les rendez-vous
    Ne comprendront jamais vraiment demain.”

    if I’m allowed to interpret:

    ‘he who finds reasons to forget his promises will never understand the future.’

    Let’s wait for Cendrine to explain.

  2. salve
    July 6, 2008

    hey, girl, thanks for including mine here. i’m honored. 🙂

    crumbs
    i-view

  3. brainteaser
    July 6, 2008

    I super love your poem girl. 🙂 Very much. You know how I felt when I discovered it. 😉

    Hey, you forgot to link your fave poem in the blogosphere! Comeon… I’m sure you’ve read a LOT! 🙂

    (PS: Kakasign-out ko lang, saka ka nagposte! Kaloka!)

  4. brainteaser
    July 6, 2008

    Hey BUDDY! Thanks for sharing links to Cendrine’s poems. Yes, I remember loving her French poems which you translated for me. There is an English poem by Cendrine that I love. Just can’t remember it. Need to go and look for it. Hmmm…

    Ah, sometimes, this language barrier saddens me. You know, I’d also love to feature lots of Ilokano/Iluko poems. I have lots of Ilokano poems on my list. 😦

    PS: Thanks for translating for me. Tsup! Hehehe

  5. tomachfive
    July 6, 2008

    Dear, thanks ha. I’m honored and humbled by your notice. I’ve checked out Void and An Island, and whew, they’re now my favorites too. So prolific in emotion and imagery, and very no-nonsense metaphoric talent.

    Your blog is Art Herself. Don’t stop, okay?

    You take care, okay, and God bless.

  6. soulMerlin
    July 7, 2008

    Hi Sherma ~ Well I’ve just read the first two on your list and left comments on their site. I’ll continue tomorrow….

    (meanwhile)

    Here’s a short poem by EE Cummings which made a great impact on me, in direct relationship to the poem itself:

    when god decided to invent

    everything he took one

    breath bigger than a circustent

    and everything began

    when man determined to destroy

    himself he picked the was

    of shall and finding only why

    smashed it into because

    it’s a great post and I’ll be back tomorrow

    🙂

    henry

  7. sonnetshaven
    July 7, 2008

    Hello brainsteaser, very interesting blog you have here:) I like “Remember” by Cristina Rossetti ever since I stumbled on this poem in our high school library many years back. Did you do the Singing Bee already? You’re going to enjoy it:)

  8. brainteaser
    July 7, 2008

    Hi Tom! Your poem’s one of the very first ones I read in the blogosphere. And it stayed. It’s that powerful. Keep writing, friend.

    PS. Saw your comment at Salve’s place. You used a Tagalog word. Are you a Filipino?

    Good morning, SOULMERLIN! Thank you for sharing those lines, friend. I’m checking it out now. 🙂

    Hey SONNET Hi. Your comment made me smile. I started doing it, but I’m not yet done. I’m contemplating of changing some of the rules. I can do that, can’t I? ;-)Hehehehehe.

  9. sonnetshaven
    July 7, 2008

    I think so:) As long as you don’t forget to put the song titles coz that’s the fun part:)

  10. cathi stegall
    July 7, 2008

    oh, bt…this makes me want to have the poetic skill of, uh, poetry…i tend to sway on the side of Dr. Seuss…which isn’t very respected in the artistic community. So, here I sit and type…and envy the compositions of your friends. thanks for sharing!

  11. brainteaser
    July 7, 2008

    Your comment put a smile to my face, CATHI! I’m so, so glad the poems in the list have that kind of effect on you!

    Please do scribble whatever comes to mind…

    Will I read your poem in your blog?

  12. brainteaser
    July 7, 2008

    Hi SONNET!

    Looks like salve’s going to tag me to do that! Hahaha! So it looks like I have to ‘follow’ the rules…

    Or some of it, at least. Hehehehe!

    Hopes she’s gonna blog about it and tag me soon! Hehehe. Can’t do it before she officially tags me, right? 😉

    Lemme go nag her! 😉

  13. tomachfive
    July 8, 2008

    Yes, I am Filipino, and I’m proud to be one.

    I love what you said on your post, about “They give dreams their powerful wings, let hope soar, and allow peace to descend.” I love how this means to me. This in itself is magical, when in the hustle and bustle of the city, intellectual oases are a necessity to remain in wonder, in awe, in our short existence.

    You take care, ha, always.

    Tom

  14. brainteaser
    July 8, 2008

    Hi Tom! Wow! You were among the first ones to leave a comment in my blog when I was just starting up a little 4 months ago but I never suspected that we’re kababayans! The blogosphere really made the world much smaller, huh?

    Glad you like that line. Such is the power of poetry, no?

    You take care too! And keep writing…

  15. penshadow
    July 8, 2008

    Oh, I’m late. But at least here I am. Sherma, thanks for including my piece..

    The ink of your brain makes a lifeless heart to pound and a setting sun to rise!

    Razi

  16. brainteaser
    July 8, 2008

    Hey Razi! Welcome, my dear friend!

    The ink of your brain makes a lifeless heart to pound and a setting sun to rise!

    Very poetic! Thank you!

    And keep writing poems, kabsat. You are among the greatest bilingual poets I know. I MEAN IT. (I always mean it when I praise. Because when I don’t appreciate something, I just keep quiet.)

    I especially love your Ilokano poems.

  17. sonnetshaven
    July 9, 2008

    You don’t have to wait for Avi’s tag, wait a sec I’m going to tag you this instant so I could read your answers na:)

  18. sonnetshaven
    July 9, 2008

    Hello brainteaser, it’s your turn to answer the singing bee:) go, go, go music trip ito:)

  19. sarah flanigan
    July 10, 2008

    sherma, you are so kind to include me in this – with such great poets. i’m honored. thank you, dear.
    sarah

  20. brainteaser
    July 12, 2008

    Hello Sarah!

    You yourself are a great poet. Love your works… Keep writing!

  21. Cendrine Marrouat
    October 2, 2008

    Wow! I found my name mentioned somewhere! I feel honoured, thank you very much!

    Yes the translation is pretty accurate. It does not really matter anyway, as the idea is there!

    I will definitely check out the poems you included in your post.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories

