BrainTeaser | Sherma E Benosa

Life is a puzzle; we are the clues, and God is the answer.

What Matters

They say what matters is not how good we are in keeping ourselves out of trouble but how well we get out of trouble after we have unwittingly gotten into it. I agree.

After all, there can’t possibly be any one who can manage not to ever get into trouble. I believe that at some points in our lives, we find ourselves in situations we never dreamed of ever getting into — situations which we’d rather watch from a safe distance than be involved in.  

At one point or another, we would succumb to temptations, commit mistakes, make wrong moves, and yes — fail. And very soon we find ourselves caught in a tangled web whose ending and beginning we can no longer pinpoint, and from which liberating ourselves seems impossible.

Then we realize that getting out of our predicaments can be very difficult, and that not all of us have the courage, the determination and the will to get out of sorrow’s clasps. Move over, it seems that not everyone of those who might have them (courage, determination and will) can actually make it — some do succeed, often after having been badly scathed with all their struggles; but some would fail and succumb to destruction.

What’s worse is that, even those who might manage to escape from the abyss they’ve been thrown into might, in their struggles, lose something of themselves, so that, although they will still be the same persons who have gotten into and out of the maze, they will no longer be their old selves. Somehow, they will be changed. 

So while our ability to get out of the trouble we have gotten ourselves into matters more than our ability to keep out of it, far more important is the person we would become after everything we went through. If, after all that we’ve put up with, we would still have our conscience to help us discern what is right and wrong, and the willingness and ability to heed the dictates of that conscience, then we know we’ve succeeded in clinching that which really matters.    

11 comments on “What Matters

  1. fsxmmm1
    March 10, 2008

    Really? Interesting point of view. Apparently ,you’ve given this some thought, similar to my thinking. I like to suscibe to the principle of KISS, keep it simple. fred

  2. brainteaser
    March 11, 2008

    Hello Fred! First, let me thank you for swinging by my blog. Welcome, friend.

    Yes, KISS is a good philosophy. I like it too. The simpler, the better.

    Have a nice day, friend!

  3. fsxmmm1
    March 11, 2008

    Greetings: I suppose you’ll come up with another brainbuster soon. I forgot what I was, apurist? a scientist? a torturist,yes . Just when you get all cozy, I’ll hit you with something serious, haha, well its for sure I ‘m not a computerist. Fred

  4. Cliff
    March 12, 2008

    Yeah, well said Buddy. But then, what matters is you use the matter to harden your resolve in life, like a tempered…., again, surgical knife?

    Next time, put that ‘matter’ in a particle accelerator!

    Smile!

  5. brainteaser
    March 12, 2008

    Hi Fred! Hmmm…. Greetings to you too. 🙂
    .

    Hey Cliff! Welcome, Buddy. You’ve got a very interesting way of putting your ideas. As usual, I need to research on how the things you mention work before I get to understand your meaning. Ah! You just enjoy playing “understand-me-if-you-can game, noh?

  6. fsxmmm1
    March 12, 2008

    Let not what is lacking in the world, be lacking in you, probably the hardest thing you’ll do but is worth so much. Don’t take what is precious and make it common. fred

  7. Cliff
    March 12, 2008

    Hehehe! You know me well Buddy, I can’t be drab. Like your postings, there should be something to sparkle interest in my comments.

  8. fsxmmm1
    March 12, 2008

    Sorry I really did’nt answer your comment. But its a way to deepen your understanding, not a game, but to maybe cause you to look further,I’ll then know what I want to know. My blog is called Distant Nation for a reason. Keep smiling, oh, thanks cliff -fred

  9. brainteaser
    March 14, 2008

    Hello Fred! It’s ok. 🙂 It is in sharing ideas and opinion, as well as some related thoughts (even if they are not direct response to a previous comment), that we can widen our perspectives and deepen our understanding about things.

    🙂

    Hello Cliff! I know you, Buddy! 🙂 I have to admit that at first I did not understand your original post; but then when I realized what those objects — surgical knife and particle accelerator are — are, I realized what a brilliantly crafted comment you posted. Hmmm…

  10. Christyqe
    March 24, 2008

    favorited this one, man

  11. brainteaser
    March 26, 2008

    hello Christyqe. i am deeply honored.
    how are you?

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This site has moved to a new address: P[e]NORAMA

Categories

